A type of fancy shape diamond, which is elongated with points at each end.

A term used primarily to describe small, round faceted diamonds of approximately .18 carat or less.

An item of jewellery which is ready to have the centre / main diamond or gemstone set into.

Mine cut diamond
An early form of the brilliant diamond with a squarish-shaped girdle, high crown, small table, deep pavilion, and very large culet.

Mohs Scale of Hardness
The 10-point scale of mineral hardness. On the Mohs scale of relative hardness, a diamond is rated as 10 meaning that it is the hardest mineral known to man. Only a mineral of the same hardness grade can scratch the mineral. Sapphires for example are graded as 9 on the Mohs scale of hardness which means that only another Sapphire or a diamond (because a diamond is harder) can scratch a Sapphire. Yet, Sapphires cannot scratch a diamond because they are softer.

Mohs 10-point scale of mineral hardness table.

 Hardness (from hard to soft)  Mineral
 10  Diamond
 9  Corundum, Sapphire and Ruby
 8  Emerald, Aquamarine, Topaz, Beryl and Hardened Steel
 7  Quartz, Amethyst, Citrine and Agate
 6.5  Tanzanite, Steel file, Iron Pyrite, Glass and Vitreous Pure Silica
 6  Orthoclase, Titanium and Spectrolite
 5  Apatite
 4.5  Platinum and Iron
 4  Fluorite
 3  Calcite and Copper Coin
 2.5  Pure 24K Gold, Silver and  Aluminium
 2  Gypsum
 1  Talc
FAQ categories: